Chapter Summaries

of “El Filibusterismo”

El Filibusterismo (Spanish for The Filibustering), also known by its English alternate title The Reign of Greed, is the second novel written by Philippine national hero Dr. José Rizal.  It is the sequel to Noli Me Tangere and like the first book, was written in Spanish.  Rizal began the work in October 1887 while practicing medicine in Calamba. In London (1888), he made several changes to the plot and revised a number of chapters.  Rizal continued to work on his manuscript while in Paris, Madrid, and Brussels, finally completing it on March 29, 1891 in Biarritz.  It was published the same year in Ghent.

Learn this Filipino word:

pagtatampisáw sa putik