Flag Days

The period from May 28 to June 12 of each year is declared as Flag Days, during which period all offices, agencies and instrumentalities of government, business establishments, institutions of learning and private homes are enjoined to display the flag.

Executive Order No. 179 in 1994 mandated the eminent display of the National Flag in all, public buildings, government offices and official residences in commemoration of the first unfurling of the Philippine Flag on Philippine soil on May 28, 1898. The Philippine flag was first unfurled after the Battle of Alapan, where the Philippine Revolutionary Army lead by Aguinaldo defeated the Spanish Army on May 28, 1898. This day is recognized today as National Flag Day.

Furthermore, Section 7 of RA 8491, An Act Prescribing the Code of the National Flag, Anthem, Motto, Coat-of-Arms and Other Heraldic Items and Devices of the Philippines, provides that "The flag shall also be displayed in private buildings and residences or raised in the open on flag-staffs in from of said buildings every April 9- Araw ng Kagitingan; Labor Day on May 1; National Flag Day on May 28 to Independence Day on June 12; Heroes Day on the last Sunday of August; Bonifacio Day on November 30; and Rizal Day on December 30; and on such other days as may be declared by the President and or local chief executives."

Government offices display the flag everyday from sunrise to sunset. Private buildings and homes should display the flag from sunrise to sunset on national and special holidays.

April 9 – Araw ng Kagitingan

May 1 – Labor Day

May 28 to June 12 - National Flag Day to Independence Day

last Sunday of August – Heroes Day

November 30 – Bonifacion Day

December 30 – Rizal Day

Learn this Filipino word:

tabáng lamíg